RSS

Cooking with Blueberries – Day 2.

19 Apr

Last night’s blueberry pot stickers were a huge hit with my primary audience, my family. Tonight I wanted to continue whetting their appetite but I also wanted to also play with the color of the blueberries in my dish.
I had purchased organic chicken thighs over the weekend. Roasted chicken with its crispy skin seemed like the right dish to play with color and honestly, who doesn’t like roasted chicken? My gamble paid off! Tonight’s dinner was out of this world good. The fruity flavors came together so well with the thyme and made this roasted chicken dish my all time favorite. There is no going back!
I am so glad I am taking chances this season and adding fruit to my dishes. I have really been missing out. I hope you try it too. You never know, you may end up finding your “out of this world good” dish. Be sure to let me know when you do find it. 🙂

Blood Orange-blueberry-thyme roasted chicken thigh served with Tabouleh and Rob style corn.


At the heart of this dish is the sauce I made to pour over the chicken thighs. For a change I added no spices. Yes, it was tough to not add those, but I did not want the natural flavor or color of the fruit to be diminished by the spices.

Blood Orange-Lemon-Blueberries - the stars of tonight's dinner

Blood Orange-Blueberry-thyme Roasted chicken
*Makes 6 chicken thighs
**For the sauce:
1/4 cup freshly squeezed 1/4 cup blood orange juice
juice of 1/2 lemon
3 tbsp honey
1 1/2 tsp blood orange rind
1/2 tsp orange rind
1/2 cup packed blueberries
3 tbsp butter
2-3 sprigs of thyme
**For the chicken
6 pieces of skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs
salt
pepper

Honey I used.


Thyme was the perfect complement to the flavors of the fruit.

1. Apply 1/2 tsp of salt (1/4 on each side) all over the chicken (over and under the skin). Set aside in a roasting pan.

Chicken seasoned with salt


2. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees F.
3. In a non reactive bowl, combine the blood orange juice, the lime juice, honey, blueberries, orange rind and lemon rind.
4. In a sauce pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the juice mixture and blueberries from above to the butter. Add the thyme. Continuously stir the mixture till the blueberries cook and the sauce slightly thickens and the sauce comes to a rolling boil. The sauce should not get too thick and should be of dripping consistency.

Boiling Sauce


Finished Sauce


5. Pour the completed sauce over the chicken. Make sure the sauce completely coats the chicken, top and bottom and all around.

Look at the beautiful color of the berries and orange juices in sauce! Winning!!


6. Sprinkle pepper over the chicken (about 1/8 tsp – 1/4 tsp per thigh).

Pepper Sprinkled chicken.


7.Bake the chicken uncovered for 45 minutes to an hour or till the chicken is thoroughly cooked. Be sure to baste the chicken with the juices in the roasting pan, once or twice, during the baking process.

Roasted chicken. I had already used one piece for plating. 🙂


8. I served the chicken with tabouleh and sweet corn. You may serve it with any side dish you like. Mashed potatoes would be great!
9.Enjoy~!

Please let me know what you think of the recipe if you do try it.

Till next time,
Radhika.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2011 in Dinner

 

4 responses to “Cooking with Blueberries – Day 2.

  1. Lisa

    April 20, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I WILL be trying this!! Looks divine!

     
    • CookingBytes

      April 21, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Lisa: I was surprised how delicious it was. The skin was AH-mazing. And the rest of the thigh was juicy and flavorful. The 6 pieces were way too less. 🙂

       
  2. Diana Wentworth

    April 21, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Truly original and very wonderful sounding. We had a ranch with loads of blood oranges. They make a gorgeous rosy marmalade.

     
    • CookingBytes

      April 21, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Diana. So kind of you. Thanks for your kind words. I am sure blood orange make for a gorgeous marmalade. I will have to try that. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
