RSS

A dinner and a marriage.

07 Apr

This evening as I was driving home from work, I was thinking of what to make for dinner, like I usually do. I had some chicken, some turkey and some potatoes at home. I wanted to make an interesting dinner out of it. But my husband is an Indian vegetarian version of a “meat and potatoes kinda guy”. Before I go all top chef on my dinner, I have to pause and think if my baby daddy will like it.
So considering my sparse groceries and my love for my husband, I decided that while I make a dinner I know he will not eat (the entree anyway), I could still make a dinner named for him. I had the meat, I had the potatoes. So I decided to make potato stuffed meatballs. Could it get any more meat and potatoes than that? I was going to make stuffed meatball sandwiches on French bread.
Fortunately for me, I reached home at the same time I arrived at my decision. I eagerly began making the stuffed meatballs once inside. But it turns out stuffed meatballs are much like a marriage. They need patience, love, adjustment, attention and care. Yeah!! That isn’t happening. It’s a week night. I have son#1’s football practice to go. So much like in a marriage, I decided to compromise on my grand plans. Stuffed meatloaf it was!

Masala Potatoes Stuffed Meatloaf


Masala Potatoes stuffed meatloaf
**For the meat:
1 lb ground lean chicken
1 lb lean ground turkey
1 egg
1/3 cup breadcrumbs
Spices to spice up the meatloaf – to your liking (*see pic below of spice packet I used)
1 tsp salt
**For the potatoes:
3 cups chopped potatoes into 1/4 inch pieces
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 cup wine
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp olive oil + 2-3 tbsp more
**Topping
Ketchup
chopped carrots (completely optional)

Meat and Potatoes


Spice mix I used for meatballs.


1. Combine ingredients in the “For the meat” section. Set aside.
2. In a saute pan, add the olive oil. When the oil is hot add the chili powder, cumin, turmeric and salt. Cook for 30 seconds.
3. Add the potatoes. Mix well to coat the potatoes with the spices. After about 3 minutes or so, add the wine to deglaze the pan. Mix well. Let the wine reduce. Then cover the pan and cook the potatoes till the potatoes are done but not mushy. Turn off heat. Seat aside to cool down.

Masala potato sauteing pan - needs deglazing - with wine of course!


Masala Potatoes


4. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
5. On a flat surface, place a large rectangular piece of aluminum foil at least 18-20 inches long. Apply a light layer of oil. Pat the meat into a rectangle about 12″ long by 6″ wide and about 1/4″-1/2″ thick on the piece of foil. (In my rush, I did not use a foil. Do not do what I did. Do not forget the foil.)

Rectangular meat layer.


6. Place the potato filling along the the length of the rectangle. Bring each of the 6″ corners to the center. Tightly seal the edges and shape into a loaf. In my eagerness to see if this would work, I forgot to take step by step pictures for the folding part. But it is easy enough. Short edges are brought to the center. Seal tight. Shape like a loaf.

Stuff and fold and seal.


7. Pick up the loaf by the foil and place in to a baking pan. Surround with carrots tossed in some oil and sprinkled with some salt and pepper. Top the loaf with some ketchup. I also topped my meatloaf with the two stuffed meatballs I made before I lost my patience for them.

Meatloaf is ready to be baked


8. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour or till the meat is done. Cooking times vary based on the oven. Make sure the meat is thoroughly cooked.

Baked Meatloaf


Slice of stuffed meatloaf


9. I served the meatloaf with green beans and rice pilaf.

Meatloaf dinner


9. Enjoy~!

Please let me know what you thought of the recipe if you do try it.

Till next time,
Radhika.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in Dinner

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “A dinner and a marriage.

  1. CanRad

    April 8, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Great post!! Love how the meatloaf looks like a face in one of your shots (meatball eyes, carrot smile). I am going to give this a try this weekend!

     
    • Radhika

      April 8, 2011 at 10:46 am

      Thanks. 🙂 Love you. ❤

       

Leave a Reply

 
