RSS

Caramelized Pineapple sheera – OH so good!

04 Apr

As part of the Ugadi dinner, I decided to make pineapple sheera for dessert. It is a favorite of both my sons.
This time I added a twist to my recipe based on a post I had read from my friend Robyn about buttered pineapple she had made for an Indian food party she hosted. She cooks the pineapple in butter and sugar. It sounded so good to me but I was waiting for the right time to try it out. And yesterday seemed like the perfect time to incorporate her dish into mine. I was sure it would add a new layer of flavor to an amazing dish. Thanks Rob!
Sheera to me defines one thing – home. It takes me back to my childhood, my home and my parents and my mom’s amazing cooking and my dad’s love of plating the food. Love you mom and dad! This one’s for you guys.
I am so glad my sons’ love this dessert as much as me. It feels like I am passing along a piece of me.

Caramelized Pineapple Sheera

Pineapple sheera
*Total time: 1 hr
*Makes about 2.5 cups

Ingredients:
3/4 cup milk
1 tsp pack of saffron strands
1 heaping cup + 2 tbsp of 1 inch chunk of pineapple – pat dried
1 cup semolina or rava
1 cup sugar + 3 tsp of sugar
2 cups boiling water
2 tbsp of dried raisins
3 tbsp of butter
1 tsp cardamom powder/seeds

1. Warm the milk slightly and add the saffron. Set aside. This milk with saffron will add a nice yellow color to the dish and also a great aroma and taste.

Saffron In Milk


2. In a deep sauce, on a low flame (very important), add the 3 tsp of sugar. When the sugar melts and before it gets burnt, add the pat dried pineapple. Stir constantly. Cook till the melted sugar, the juice of the pineapple and the heat of the flame, all mix and mingle and the pineapple get slightly caramelized. It is important to not let the pineapple to get burnt or too caramelized. Mild flavors are the hallmark of this dish. Set aside.

Caramelized pineapple


3. Add the butter to the sauce pan. Set the flame to low. Once the butter melts, add the semolina and sugar. Mix constantly and cook till the rava is cooked. It should not brown or burn but get slightly toasted. Cook for 6-8 minutes. You will know the semolina is cooked when you can smell the aroma of butter and rava. Add the raisins. Mix well. Cook for 1-2 minutes.

Toasted Semolina


4. Add the boiling water. Mix constantly till the semolina absorbs the water. Add the saffron milk and the cardamom powder. Mix well. Cook on low for a minute or two till the milk is also absorbed by the rava. turn off the flame. Set aside. This dish is best when served warm.

Cardamom


Mix, Mix, Mix.


5. Enjoy~!

Please let me know what you thought of the recipe if you do try it.

Till next time,
Radhika.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

 
