RSS

Mixed bean curry and St. Patrick’s day!

17 Mar

Here’s how I was inspired to make this dinner…
Me: “Hello there Mr Colleague man. How have you been?”
Mr Colleague Man: “I am doing good. I made Rajma Chawal on Sunday.”
Me: “And??? What else??”
Mr Colleague man: “What do you mean what else??? Rajma chawal is da bomb…” and he went on and on about it.
Me to myself: “Hmmm…gotta make this soon. Wonder if gas prices have gone up today?” Sorry all! I have a very short attention span.
And why pick today of all days, today being St. Patty’s day, you ask? Well the weather has been fantastic! I was in no mood to cook and plus Mr Colleague Man’s words were haunting me. Well, the one’s I heard anyway! Hope everyone had a memorable St. Patty’s day.

Rajma Chawal on St. Patty's day

Rajma Chawal
*Total time required – 9-10 hours. 8 hours to soak the beans. The time it takes to cook the beans + to make the curry is about an hour. Let this not scare you away. The dish is worth the effort.
*Serving suggestion – Served over rice. Hence the “Chawal” in the name. You can also serve the curry with bread or roti.

10 oz mixed beans (I had a 20 oz bag of 15 bean Cajun mix for ham and bean soup. Plus, they had green beans in them. How could I not make them today? I used about 1/2 of the bag. See pic below for the kind I used. Usually available in the Mexican aisle of your local grocery store). Soak the beans for 6-8 hours before use.
2 cups packed finely diced onions
2 tsp ginger-garlic paste
1.5 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1.5 tsp cumin seeds
1.5 tsp garam masala powder
1 can stewed tomato
1/2 can of finely diced green chiles (added to give the dish a green touch and I truly love them. Usually available in the Mexican aisle of your local grocery store) – Totally optional.
2-2.5 tsp of salt (to your liking)
1/8 cups + 1.5 tbsp of olive oil

Bag of beans. See the green beans?? That so qualifies it for St. Patty's day!


Beans that have been for soaked for 6-8 hours. See the green beans? Happy St. Patty's day again!


My favorite chiles. See the green?? Happy St. Patty's day all!

1. Pressure cook the beans. (You can cook the beans however you choose. I always use the pressure cooker)
2. In a large saute pan, add the oil. Once the oil is hot, add the onions and cook for 5-8 minutes till they are transparent.
3. Add the ginger-garlic paste. Cook for 30 seconds.
4. Add the cumin, turmeric, chili powder and garam masala powder. Cook for 30-45 seconds. Mix well.
5. Add the can of stewed tomatoes. Mix well. Let cook for 2-4 minutes. If the tomato chunks are too large, I chop them into smaller pieces before adding them in.
6. Add the chiles. Mix well. Cook for a minute or so.

Come to me my pretty!! Oh so pretty! Oh so tasty! Oh so green! Happy St. Patty's day all!


7. Add the cooked beans. Add the salt and lime juice. Mix thoroughly. Let it cook on a low flame for 10 minutes.
8. Set aside for 10-15 minutes before you serve. Serve over rice.

Serve over rice. See the little bit of green?? Yep, you guessed it. Happy St. Patty's day all!!


Enjoy~! Please let me know what you thought of the recipe if you do try it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

 
