RSS

Thai shrimp fried rice and shopping.

16 Mar

I wanted to, I needed to and I had to get dinner made quickly and easily. Cause I wanted to, I needed to and I had to go shopping!
Yes. Yes. I acknowledge that “I am Radhika. I am a shopaholic”. Shopping is a necessity, an addiction I have no desire to break anytime soon. Sorry dear husband. You are just going to have to work harder to support my habit.
So let’s just get on with dinner already shall we!?

Thai Fried Rice. If Charlie Sheen tasted this he would say "Winning!! Duh!". I have no doubt.


Thai Fried rice
Serves 4-6 hungry people
2.5 cups rice. (I use Zafrani Basmati from Costco)
2 cups frozen mixed vegetables (I used 2 cups of a stir fry vegetable mix that I had in the freezer. You can use fresh vegetables as well)
1 8oz can of bamboo shoots
Shrimp (I used about 12 frozen shrimp)
2 cups vertically and thinly sliced onion
2 tsp ginger – garlic paste
1/2 tsp fish oil
1/4 cup Sriracha hot chili sauce
1/4 cup peanut butter – I use crunchy.
5 eggs
6-8 tbsps of oil (I use olive oil. This dish does need the oil if it has to be like the rice you get at restaurants. You can reduce the oil if you wish)
1 tbsp sesame oil
salt – 3-4 tbsp
Juice of 1/2 lime
Hot water to cook the rice

Eggs and Bamboo


Peanut butter - sriracha mix. The yin and yang of this dish.


The sriracha chili sauce


1. Cook the rice per direction on the package. Add 1 tsp of salt per cup of rice. The rice I use requires 1:2 cups of rice to water ratio. While the rice is cooking prepare the mix for the rice.
2. In a large saute pan, add the oil (olive oil or whatever you use) and the sesame oil. When the oil is hot, add the onions. Cook for 5 minutes or until they are transparent.
3. Add the ginger garlic paste cook for a minute
4. Add the frozen vegetables and the rinsed and drained can of bamboo shoots and cook till the vegetables and bamboo are fully cooked. Be sure to stir every so often, to prevent burning of vegetables or onion.
5. While the vegetables are cooking, beat the eggs and set aside. Once the vegetables are cooked, add the eggs and mix. Be sure to mix well and scramble the eggs thoroughly. Continue mixing till the eggs are thoroughly cooked. Add 1.5 tsp to the mix at this point and stir well. Set the flame to low.

Egg and Vegetable mixture


6. Now add the peanut butter followed by the Sriracha sauce. Mix to combine. Continue stirring. Yes, this is a great workout for your arm.

Sriracha and peanut butter added. Mix, stire, combine! Repeat.


7. After about 1-2 minutes, add the shrimp. Cook till shrimp is half way cooked. Mix well.
8. After all the ingredients are combined and cooked, add the rice. And you guessed it, mix well till the rice is coated with the vegetable sauce mixture.

Add rice. Mix, stir, repeat. Repeat. Work that arm!!


9. Add the lemon juice and 1 tsp salt. Mix really well. Cover and cook for 5-8 minutes on low.
10. Set aside for 10-15 minutes before you serve.

Enjoy~! Please let me know what you think of the recipe if you do try it.

On the shopping front, I bought me some colorful dresses which scream spring, garden, flowers, trip to Hawaii, winning the lottery….ok…I will stop now. Point being, I love the dresses I end up buying.

Springy ring. I may have pushed a few people out of the way to get to this ring.


I was so thrilled to find the dresses in these vibrant colors. I bought them immediately. Now I just have to go down 3 dress sizes by Saturday and I'll be good.

Until next time,
Radhika.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in Dinner

 

3 responses to “Thai shrimp fried rice and shopping.

  1. Gayathri

    March 17, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Lovely write up, beautiful dress & a yummy recipe to go with it! A girl after my own herat! Keep up the good work!

     
    • CookingBytes

      March 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate it. Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog. 🙂

       
  2. Gayathri

    March 17, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Pls excuse my typo! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
