RSS

Enchiladas and a robot – dinner is now served.

15 Mar

Ever felt like enchiladas are beckoning you or stalking you or following around on the internet? In the recent I have seen enchilada posts all over the world wide web. I was waiting for a news headline which read “Enchiladas have taken over the world!”
And when no such thing happened, I realized that maybe, just maybe it was just me craving an enchilada and maybe it was me searching for enchilada recipes. That could mean only one thing, enchiladas for dinner it was!

Enchilada dinner


As me, myself and Radhika, I was thrilled to finally eat the enchilada once it was made. As a mom though, I was pleased that I was able to feed the kids a kinda healthy meal on a day when all I wanted to do was put my feet up and rest. You see, software releases never go smoothly. I should have known that by now!

Enchiladas
*Make 16 enchiladas (12 meat-veggie & 4 only veggie)
16 tortillas
1 lb lean ground turkey
2.5 cups thinly sliced (vertically sliced) onions
1.5 cups thinly sliced (vertically sliced) green zucchini
1.5 cups thinly sliced (vertically sliced) yellow zucchini
2 portobello mushrooms cleaned, dried and thinly sliced (vertically sliced)
2 packets of taco seasoning
3.5-4 cups of enchilada sauce
1 can of beans (I used mixed beans – washed and rinsed thoroughly)
shredded cheese (any kind you like)
olive oil – 6 tbsps

1. In a large sauteing pan, add 1.5 tbsp of the olive oil. When the oil is hot, ad one packet of the taco seasoning. Add the meat. Mix well. Saute the turkey meat till fully cooked and browned. Set aside.

Fully cooked turkey meat seasoned with taco seasoning


2. In the same pan add the remaining oil. Make sure the oil is hot. Add the onions. Saute till caramelized. Add the zucchini and mushrooms. Saute till well cooked and browned. Add the taco seasoning. Mix well. Continue sauteing for a minute or two. Make sure the vegetables brown but don’t burn. Add a couple tbsp of water if the mix is too dry. Add the beans. Mix again. Cook for 5 minutes. Turn off the pan.

3. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
4. Begin assembling the enchiladas. Place a tortilla on a plate and place a little of the veggie mixture & a little of the turkey meat and roll it to form a cylinder. Place the folded side down in a baking dish. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Spoon the veggie mix


Spoon some meat. The tortilla is ready to be rolled.


5. Pour the enchilada sauce over the stuffed and rolled tortillas and sprinkle as much or as little cheese as you see fit.

Ready to bake enchiladas.


6. Bake for 20 minutes or till cheese is fully melted. While the enchiladas were baking I made Spanish rice.
I forgot to take a picture when the enchiladas were fresh out of the oven as I was eager to dig in. So that is just what I did! And you will too if you make this dish.

Enjoy~! Please let me know what you thought of the recipe if you do try it.

And where does the robot fit in all this you ask? While I was making the enchiladas, my first born was busy making a robot from recycled materials for a school project. The project requires that all recyclable materials be used and that it should have three examples of simple machines used for work.
He has had a couple meltdowns, but over all, he has been doing an excellent job at building the robot. He has been very creative and worked through the problems. That is, when he is not accusing me loving the enchiladas more than him.
He made a lot more progress last night than you see in the picture, but I was too busy eating to take pictures. No wonder he thinks I love enchiladas more than him.

Until next time,
Radhika.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2011 in Dinner

 

Leave a Reply

 
