RSS

Cucumber dosa – it’s what’s for a spring forward breakfast

13 Mar

Having sprung forward an hour last night only meant that my family was hungry an hour earlier this morning. I had barely gotten out of bed when I had three guys asking me “What’s for breakfast?”. And my husband, being the leader of the pack of three, suggested dosa and his foot soldiers readily agreed. So dosa it was going to be. I wanted to make something quick and easy. What to make???
When I opened the refrigerator, I found a cucumber calling out my name. It was then that I decided to make cucumber dosa.

Cucumber dosa - A savory Indian crepe

Cucumber Dosa
*Makes 14-15 dosas

Ingredients:
2.5 cups rice soaked in warm water for 2-5 hours (Since I had a very hungry family to feed, I soaked the rice in hot water for 1/2 hour)
shredded coconut – 1/2 cup
cucumber – 1/2 – 1 inch pieces – 1.5 cups
1 serrano pepper – de-seeded and finely chopped
1/2 tsp cumin/jeera seeds
salt – 3/4 tsp
water as needed to grind

Shredded coconut and cucumber


1. Grind the rice, coconut, cucumber by adding water to a very fine paste. The consistency should be that of a crepe batter.

Rice, cucmber, coconut and water. Ready to be ground into a fine paste.


Dosa batter at the crepe consistency


2. Add the salt. Dosa made with rice is very sensitive to salt. The lesser the better. Start with 1/2 tsp salt. Taste. Add more only if you if feel it is required.
3. Add the finely chopped serrano pepper and cumin seeds. Mix well.
4. Fry the dosa like you would a crepe by spreading it thin on a hot crepe pan. Pour the batter using a ladle on to the pan using a circular spreading motion. You will need 2 ladles full per dosa. Add 1/2 tsp oil to the pan (again use circular spreading motion) before adding the dosa batter and then add 1/2 tsp oil to the circumference of the dosa after you spread the batter. Cover and let the dosa cook for a minute before flipping it. Flip and cook the crepe for an additional 30 seconds. You don’t need to cover the dosa when flipped. Be sure to mix every time you scoop up batter using the ladle.

Frying the dosa


5. Repeat till all batter is used.
6. Serve with your favorite chutney. I had chutney remaining from last night when I made rava idli so I just used that.

Hot dosa served with tomato chutney


Enjoy~! Please do let me know what you thought of the recipe if you do try it.

Speaking of Spring and springing forward, look what I found trying to make a comeback in my kitchen garden! So exciting!!

Chives


Rosemary


Mint

Till next time,
Radhika.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2011 in Breakfast

 

Leave a Reply

 
